Leigh Athletic FC are the towns longest running and most decorated football club. Founded in 1958 as Old Leighans the club has played in the Farnworth, Leigh, Lancashire Amateur League and now the Manchester Amateur League. Our history in the town has been based on strong connections with; Leigh Harriers, playing at the old Holden Road track and more recently the Harriers track at Leigh Sports Village. The Subby (Leigh Bowling Club) was a long time clubhouse for the leads and most recently with Bond Street Catholic Club as our base.

The club has won many major trophies over the years, the first notable one in 1965 Atherton Charity Cup. The 1990’s brought the club its most successful decade, under the management of Ted Roberts winning the Lancashire Amateur Premier League five times in six seasons and the League Cup twice. The treble was completed in 1998 as the prestigious Wigan Cup was added.


Club legends and local lads such as Gordon Walker, Danny Wilson, Rick Wilson and Gordon Spowart took the team forward into the Manchester League and won the First division title in its first season under the management of Andy Pickles. Following seasons saw 3rd and 4th place finishes in the Premier league before Dave Mort took over the first team reigns at the start of the 2005/2006 season. With a new young side Dave took the coveted Gilgryst Cup in his first season with a 2-1 final win over East Manchester.

Since the turn of 2000 the fortunes of the club have varied. With two relegations, followed by two instant promotions and league victories. Two additional cup wins and numerous final appearances since 2002, the club has yet again built a strong following and base of talented players to push forward in the coming years.